MANTENO COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 5

Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Education Tuesday, May 8, 2007 – 6:30 p.m. High School Library

Open Meeting The meeting was held in the library of the Manteno High School, and was called to order by President Pro-Tem Martin at 6:30 p.m.

Roll Call The following members answered to roll call:

G. Dodge P. Mallaney S. Martin M. Nelson G. Preston J. Toepper M. Stauffenberg – seven (7)

Also present: Supt. Russert, K. Meyer, P. Russert, J. Palicki, T. Steele, J. DePoister and Clerk Fortin – seven (7).

Visitors: J. Nelson, B. Reid, C. Stauffenberg, and K. Tierney (Russell Publications) – Approximately four visitors.

Pledge of Allegiance

President Pro-Tem Martin led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Appointment Moved by Stauffenberg, seconded by Dodge to appoint Deb Fortin as Of Recording Secretary. Voice vote – all ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0).

Secretary Motion carried.

Swearing In President Pro-Tem Martin administered the oath of office to the newly Of New Board elected School Board members: Gale Dodge, Mark Stauffenberg, Members Gary Preston and Mike Nelson.

Election of President

President Pro-Tem Martin opened the nominations for President of the Board of Education. Member Dodge nominated Mark Stauffenberg, while Member Mallaney seconded the motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, Member Nelson moved the nominations be closed, while Member Preston seconded and the Secretary Pro-Tem be instructed to cast a unanimous ballot and Mr. Stauffenberg be declared elected President of the Board. Motion carried unanimously.

Election of President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Vice President.

Vice President Member Stauffenberg nominated Member Martin, while Member Dodge seconded the motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, Member Nelson moved the nominations be closed, while Member Dodge seconded and the Secretary Pro-Tem be instructed to cast a unanimous ballot and Mr. Martin be declared elected Vice President of the Board. Motion carried unanimously.

Election of President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Secretary. Secretary Member Stauffenberg nominated Member Mallaney, which was seconded by Member Toepper. Since no further nominations were heard, Member Nelson moved the nominations be closed and the Secretary Pro-Tem be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot and Mr. Mallaney be declared elected Secretary of the Board. Motion carried unanimously. Appoint Moved by Mallaney, seconded by Nelson to appoint Kathy Meyer as the School Treasurer for 2007-2008. Ayes: Mallaney, Nelson, Dodge, Martin, Preston, Treasurer Toepper and Stauffenberg – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried. Establishment Moved by Nelson, seconded by Dodge that the regular board meetings of the Of Date. Manteno CUSD #5 Board of Education continue to be held on the fourth Tuesday Time and of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the High School Library. Place of Reg. Voice vote: All ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried. Board Mtgs. Adoption of Moved by Toepper, seconded by Nelson that the existing Board Policies be Board adopted. Voice vote: All ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carred. Policies Moved by Mallaney, seconded by Dodge that the Board designate Bank of Designation Bourbonnais, Centrue Bank, HomeStar Bank, Illinois School District Liquid Of Asset Fund, Muncipal Trust and Savings Bank, and PMA Financial Network, Depositories For District Inc. as depositories for the District. Funds Voice vote: All ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried. Approve Moved by Martin, seconded by Toepper that the continuation of services of Huff Architectural May Architectural Group be approved as the District architectural firm.

Firm Voice vote: All ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Approve Moved by Dodge, seconded by Nelson that the continuation of services of Accounting Smith, Koelling, Dykstra, & Ohm be approved as the auditing firm for the Firm District. Voice vote: All ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Approve Moved by Martin, seconded by Nelson that the continuation of services of Canna Legal and Canna as District legal counsel be approved. Voice vote: All ayes – seven Counsel (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Of Board Committees

Reorganization Moved by Mallaney, seconded by Nelson to approve the committee members as presented:

Education Foundation Board – Mark Stauffenberg

	Chairperson	Second Member(s)
Finance Committee	Patrick Mallaney	Mike Nelson
Buildings & Grounds	Sam Martin	Jon Toepper/Gary Preston
Curriculum/Technology	Gale Dodge	Sam Martin

Kankakee Special Education Cooperative Representative – Mike Nelson Career Center/KARVES Representative – Gary Preston

Voice vote: All ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Adjournment Moved by Martin, seconded by Nelson to adjourn the meeting. Voice Vote – all ayes (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

The open meeting ended at 6:57 p.m.

Board President, Mark Stauffenberg Board Secretary, Patrick Mallaney

MKS/PM/df